European Travel Guidelines

Jun 8, 2021

As the number of people vaccinated around the world grows, countries are establishing rules for incoming international travel.

Europe in particular is a coveted destination for American travel, and many Americans are now vaccinated. However, the rules vary greatly from country to country, and they’re crucial to know before planning a trip.

While these rules will assuredly change in the future, here’s what we know as of now.


From June 7, tourists from the United States and most non-EU countries will be able to travel to Spain if they have completed their vaccination schedule at least 14 days before traveling.

Official vaccination certificates, issued by the country’s health authorities, in English, Spanish, French and German will be accepted, if the vaccine administered is one of those authorized by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) or included in the WHO emergency use list. These vaccines are currently those manufactured by Pfizer-Biontech, Moderna, Astra-Zeneca, Jansen/Johnson&Johnson, Sinovac and Sinopharm.

Unvaccinated minors from the same family unit may enter carrying a negative PCR, similar test (NAAT type), or negative antigen test, issued within 48 hours prior to arrival in Spain.

More information here.


France has announced a color-coded map laying out entry protocols for the summer travel season, with restrictions lifted for EU residents and “green” countries like Australia, South Korea, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand and Singapore.

In “orange” zones including Britain, North America, and most of Asia and Africa, even vaccinated travelers to France will have to produce a negative Covid-19 test taken within the last 72 hours (or 48 hours for a negative antigen test). But they will no longer need to quarantine or have a compelling reason for their visit.

For non-vaccinated people coming from “orange” zones, however, only essential trips will be allowed and a seven-day self-quarantine is imposed in addition to the above requirements for a Covid-19 test. Mask-wearing remains mandatory indoors and outdoors but curfew rules will be lifted on June 30.


Arrivals from the EU, Britain and Israel simply must produce a negative Covid-19 test.

Travelers from the U.S., Canada, Australia, South Korea, Rwanda and Thailand must provide a negative test taken within 72 hours prior to entering, and then self-isolate in their home/hotel for 10 days, then take another test. At the moment, vaccination status does not affect this.


Arrivals from EU countries, the Schengen area, Canada, the U.S., Israel, China, Thailand, Russia and Saudi Arabia are all allowed to enter Greece, but they are required to fill in a form and produce proof of vaccination or a PCR test of less than 72 hours, or a certificate of post-infection immunity. Masks remain mandatory both indoors and outdoors.

United Kingdom

Restrictions are still strict for now. For most countries, before traveling to England, you must take a Covid-19 test, quarantine for 10 days upon arrival and then take another test.

Visitors from “green” countries only need to take a test before and upon arrival, with no quarantine unless the test is positive.